top of page

Michelin X LT A/S Tire Review

Well it was a hard decision however I decided to go with

the Michelin

X LT A/S

245/65R17 107T BSW for my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo.  This was a hard decision. I thought these were the old Michelin LTX A/S. After doing numerous searches for the X LT A/S I was always shown the LTX in google searches. It wasn’t till a trip to Costco to get my other vehicle tires rotated that I asked the salesperson about this tire. He stated that this tire was only out about 6 months old and that the tread pattern was the same as the Michelin Defender. As he showed me the display I decided to do a little more research. After googling the X LT once again I found out that all of the tires found in the search were the LTX A/S. These tires were OEM tires that were put on numerous trucks and SUV’s the past 5 to ten years. These XLT’s were good however not as good as the defender especially in snow. I decided to contact Michelin. After a day they responded with this:

The Michelin X LT A/S is a "club exclusive" version of the Michelin Defender LTX A/S and both are mixable. The details about the tires are the same and both are backed by the same warranty.

They explained to me that Costco sells more Michelin tires in a weekend then most tires stores sell in a month, this being the reason for their own tire.

So I am starting with 109132 miles on the vehicle.

I ended up getting the tires for $681.92 everything included that Costco offers. This being a Full Hazard protection and tires rotation for six years, taxes, Nitrogen, Installation, tire disposal and TPMS service packs. More Info Here!

Now the review:

First week of Driving:  After having these put on the Jeep it rides like a new vehicle. Steering response is excellent (better than the last two sets of OEMs that were on there). It rained very hard the next day and let me tell you what a difference in driving. Even when this jeep was new it had a tendency to loose some traction in the higher water. Not any longer, these things seem to force the water out to the sides and the hydroplaning is no longer there. So far so good! I have a fishing trip coming up and driving on the beach here in Delaware is the next test. Stay tuned.

Okay 10,000 miles and these tires after free rotation at Costco are still like brand new. Wear is very good and ride is perfect. Sand travel was perfect with no complaints. Stay tuned for additional mileage reviews. 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page